Green.

In honor of St. Patrick’s Day, I thought I would share the integral role that the color green plays in my life.  I never say that green is my favorite color, but for some reason I am always, always drawn to it.  It’s gotten to the point where I’ll be shopping with my sister and we’ll see something green in the distance and I will head mindlessly for it and she will just start shaking her head “no.”  Thank goodness.  Here are some things I managed to get my hands on despite her interventions…

First of all, my big green couch.  I distinctly remember standing in the store, looking at the couch, and then calling three or four different people and asking, “Would it be weird to buy a big green couch?”

green couch

I bought the big green couch.  What you’ll notice in this picture is not only the  couch, but also a green-lined tray (slash cat bed), a green candle holder with a green candle in it, a small green planter that holds my remote, my green computer (I almost didn’t see it because it blends into the couch!) and on the far left, a green framed picture of a butterfly, courtesy of my friend Lindsay.  This does not include any of my three green rugs, numerous other green candles, green pillows, etc.  I can’t stop!

My guest room/office is also green, although I do not like the shade:

green guest room

My kitchen is green too, of course, and that shade is much better.

This is a shot of the tablecloth I chose for the table for our Thanksgiving dinner:

joey and tablecloth

There’s the requested picture of Joey, too.

Speaking of Thanksgiving, the dessert I always request for holidays dinners is key lime pie…

key lime pie

Dyed green!

I even managed to work a huge green poster into my classroom:

green poster

And I won’t even go into all the green clothes I end up with.  Although I did just realize that my two favorite coats are both green.  This is one of them:

green-coat

I could go on and on.  The upside of all this is that I don’t have to look very hard to find something green to wear to school tomorrow.  And it won’t be an battery-powered light-up teacher sweater or a shamrock-printed turtleneck!

Happy St. Patrick’s!

One Response to “Green.”

  1. Jane Says:

    De facto best blogpage post yet because of the appearance of the Bean.

Leave a Reply

