Bad Idea.

If there’s one thing I like more than working on/buying stuff for/thinking about my house, it’s watching television.  I know, I know, television is the devil, etc. etc., but hmmm…nope.  I disagree.  I think the television industry is where some of our most creative minds are working these days, and I am an English teacher, so I am all about supporting creative minds.  TV it is.

So I don’t have a moral dilemma with watching tv, but I do have a time dilemma.  It takes a lot of time to keep up with all of my favorite shows (of which there are…a few…several…), so I try to avoid watching new ones.  Yesterday after school, my brain the pile of Friday mush it usually is, I broke this rule.  Somehow I made my way to the “watch instantly” part of Netflix and even stranger, I ended up watching a little show called Friday Night Lights.

Friday Night Lights is about football.  Did you know this?  I did, and yet I started watching it anyway.  I am NOT a football person.  Not pro football, not college football, not even high school football — and I work at a high school.  In college, I lived, literally, across the street from a huge football stadium where I could have gone to games for free, and I didn’t.  Not once.  And yet…Friday Night Lights was on my computer screen.

And…ARGH…I liked it.  This is bad on so many levels.

First of all, it’s bad because it makes me question my identity.  Am I a person that can tolerate watching football scenes now?  Am I, oh horror, someone who was watching a football scene, PAYING ATTENTION to it, and CHEERING for one of the players???  Was I EMBARRASSED and SADDENED when he made a bad play, and then TEARING UP when he redeemed himself with a good one?  AAAHHHHHHHHHHHH.  This goes against all I know in life.

Secondly, it’s bad because of the time issue.  So far, the (undisclosed number of) episodes I’ve watched end with cliffhangers.  Which means I just have to watch the next one.  Immediately.  I don’t know if anyone else noticed this, but it’s the most beautiful day ever outside.  I have got to give it up.

Finally, it’s bad because now I have go research this show.  I think it is still on the air?  Or if not, how many seasons, exactly, am I going to waste my life watching?  If it is still on, does it come on on Friday nights?  That part would be okay, because I don’t have anything else to tivo on Friday nights.  See, there’s going to be a lot of research involved here.

Now, since I’ve managed to tear myself away from Season 1 for this long, I am going to ride the momentum all the way out of my house to get my hair cut and maybe go to a bookstore to counteract all the tv watching.

In case you were curious, the top 5 shows that I am watching during the week right now (on actual tv, not netflix):

5. America’s Next Top Model

4. House/American Idol

3. The Real Housewives of New York City (lord help me but I love this show)

2. Bones

1. 30 Rock (also The Office, but it’s been disappointing for a few seasons and I don’t like to think about it)

3 Responses to “Bad Idea.”

  1. kelly Says:

    um, not that i stalk you, but haircut and bookstore? shouldn’t you be at foxfield today? or have you grown out of it? i have to say i’m a little disappointed.

    it’s a beautiful day here and i would totally go dress up and get drunk in a field if i didn’t think the bosnians would frown on it. sigh.

  2. yellowbrickhouse Says:

    It’s sad but true, I am not at Foxfield today. I’ve just been so busy this year I plain forgot about it until like last week. Don’t worry — I don’t think you can ever be too old for drinking in fields.

  3. Olivia Says:

    Taylor, do not feel sad about discovering Friday Night Lights. I don’t understand anything about football, but I’ve also allowed my heart to be stolen by Matt Saracen and Brian ‘Smash’ Williams. I strongly encourage you to remain invested. Also, FYI: it finished its third season this year, and has been renewed for two more seasons of 13 episodes each.

    Welcome to the fold! BTW, I love your blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

